Lygodactylus guturalis

hatchling

I am very happy to share this first real post, on this blog, with all you gecko lovers and not only.

A few days ago I asked Stephen Spawls if he has a picture with a story behind that might match this blog’s idea, and he was kind enough to send me this lovely photography with a wild hatchling of an African species.

Sthephen Spawls was born in London but moved to Kenya. He spent nearly 40 years in Africa and herpetology is his major interest. He has published several books and papers on African reptiles. Lower you can find a very nice little story written by Stephen about how this picture was taken.

“This photo is of a hatchling Lygodactylus gutturalis.  I was recently in the Maasai Mara National reserve, and the only recorded species of Lygodactylus there is Lygodactylus manni, a savanna form, but at the camp where I was staying, there was some nice riverine forest, with big trees.  I thought to myself, there must be some Lygodactylus gutturalis here (they are a gecko of forest and woodland).  I walked around for ages, looking on the tree trunks, but had no luck at all.  Then I returned to the lodge, where my wife was lying by the swimming pool, and she said to me, ‘I have a lizard for you’…and there on her shoulder was this hatchling, it had fallen out of the tree onto her!  It proves that sometimes the reptiles come to you, if you wait!”

I hope you all can enjoy the photography and the story as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

